Closet shopping: 3 looks from 1 regifted dress

9 Oct

So you’re a little tight on cash and you want to add new pieces to your closet. What do you do? Closet shop! It’s the cheapest way to shop..FREE. So your friend, or in my case, roommate, is cleaning out their closet. And you share the same size? How could this get any better?! Take advantage of the opportunity and reinvent these pieces into your own style.

Thanks go those of you who commented on my recap of Bravo’s tv show Fashion Hunters, I am showing you three ways I took a dress I regifted from my roommate and make it my own style. Remember, in order for it to be an item worth having, it must go with 3 pieces in your closet. All looks You are about to see are my own pieces from my closet I have put with the dress. Here you go…

The dress:

A simple boxy grey knit dress. A perfect blank canvas.

Look 1: Dinner or Drinks on the town

I paired it with a great black knit blazer with stud details on the sleeve, a long silver leaf necklace with red seude pumps for a pop of color at the feet. It dresses up the dress and makes it more interesting.

Look 2: Casual for walking around the city

I added a gem and rhinestone studded bow waist belt to give it shape, paired with a red cardigan for color and silver flats for my love of pop and interest at the feet as well as comfort and ease.

Look 3: Work

I had a great Marc Jacobs printed sleeveless blouse with tie around the neck that I placed underneath. Who says you need to wear button downs underneath dresses for work? And of course I wore a fun shoe to match. A royal blue patent military style wedge with white tassels. So I work in fashion and this outfit will work in my office. For those with stricter dress codes, pair with a blazer or closed toed pumps to finish the look.

Try this for yourself. I’m sure you’ve inherited a regifted piece of clothing from a friend or relative that you didn’t know what to do with. Get creative and see how many outfits you can create with one piece. Have fun!

***ALL IMAGES COURTESY OF KARI ICKERT*** aka. my awesome roommate who gave me this dress. Thanks!!

4 Responses to “Closet shopping: 3 looks from 1 regifted dress”

  1. havecoffeewilltravel October 9, 2011 at 5:31 pm #

    I love it! especially with the sleeveless top underneath. Very cute. Thanks for showing how closet shopping works.

  2. Tyne Swedish October 9, 2011 at 5:57 pm #

    Go you girl! Love the looks!

  3. beingzhenya October 9, 2011 at 6:08 pm #

    Great job on the looks! It’s so awesome that you are styling a regifted dress instead of buying a new one!
    Feel free to stop by on my blog, I am a fashion blogger, who is all about reusing and recycling 🙂
    http://beingzhenya.wordpress.com/

  4. Jackie October 10, 2011 at 12:29 am #

    Your blue wedges are awesome! Love the third outfit!

Leave a Reply

