Fashion Hunters Episode 4: Chanel for $10

22 Oct

So is it really possible to get Chanel at a garage sale? For $10? Well, that’s what one woman claimed. She said she found two Chanel bags at a garage sale in Texas. The small that was highly doubted as being authentic, was indeed a faux. The bigger of the two bags went through every single test, with the ultimate indicator of it being real was the serial number. Finding it was like finding the holy grail. So, yes the bag was real! And it is selling for $3,850 in the store. That’s a $3,840 difference than what was originally paid for. Incredible find!

But can anyone really do this or was this just a fluke? You can! Why? Because I’ve done it. Yes, I really did. I didn’t get it for $10 though. I scored an authentic Chanel crossbody bag with a leather drawstring closure for…..$50. And in Texas too. I guess everything really is bigger in Texas, including the fashion deals. I literally found it in a junky antique store in my college town (yes, I’m from the Lone Star State). The guy had no idea what he had or what it was worth. I cut a deal and I walked out with an authentic Chanel bag for $50.

It’s going to be a gorgeous weekend. Try a garage sale, estate sale, or venture into a store that looks far from what you would normally stroll through. If you look off the beaten track, you can find great fashion steals.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

5 Responses to “Fashion Hunters Episode 4: Chanel for $10”

  1. Rhonda Uretzky October 22, 2011 at 11:14 am #

    That IS a gorgeous Chanel bag! I am here at a family gathering my most recent scores from Greene Street, my favorite Lambertville NJ consignment shop: Kenneth Cole faux wrap dress ($22); Ralph Lauren short brown boots ($28); David Warren brown suede dress ($22) and Steve Madden brown suede stilettos ($28). BTW – I was shopping at Green Street last week when the woman in the next dressing room asked my opinion on the dress she was trying on – and it was one that I brought to Greene Street Consignment: a long blue bias cut gown with rhinestone straps crossing in back, that I wore once 13 years ago and had been collecting dust in my closet every since…it looked GORGEOUS on her! I got it at a great price on sale new then ($100 at Saks online clearance) and she was nabbing it for just $22. What goes around comes around!

  2. White Elephant Style October 26, 2011 at 3:47 am #

    It’s a shame that people don’t realize what they already have. That’s what we are here for though, to give it a new home. And at a fraction of the price at that.

  3. Lauren {Adventures in Flip Flops} October 28, 2011 at 1:24 am #

    I remember when you bought that bag! And how you agonized over whether it was real or not. Glad you decided it was an bought it!

  4. Natalie December 4, 2011 at 10:48 pm #

    Hi! 🙂
    Hannah showed me your posts, they’re really good! I’ve been thinking of starting a blog too (I’m wanting to be a writer in the future, currently an English major.) First off, I’m very curious where you found this amazing Chanel bag for only $50 in good ole Nac??
    P.S. I told Hannah the next time she goes to NY, she better take me with her! I would love to see you and sight see the city! 🙂

    • White Elephant Style December 5, 2011 at 3:41 am #

      You should definitely come to NY with her! I’m in a new apartment and have plenty of space! Thanks for checking out my posts. I got the bag at a resale shop on main street. It is the one that looks really junky. I think it is called Brick Street Antiques or is next to Brick Street Antiques. I also got a Vintage Dooney and Bourke crossbody there for $5. It’s hit or miss but definitely worth a shot.

Leave a Reply

