Life

18 Feb

Life. It happens. I have been approached by several people and asked why I haven’t posted in a while. And that is the answer. Life. Alot has happened since I’ve last posted and I want to let you in on a little bit of it.

First off, the end of 2011 was crazy as it is for most people. I am originally from Houston, Texas and as one can imagine, I took a lengthy period of time off to go home during the holiday season to visit my family. Prior to having gone home in December, it had been 5 months since I had seen my family. This is typical of someone who lives halfway across the country, but for me this is a difficult daily feat I must tackle. I grew up in a close knit family that did everything together. We were together on the weekends, holidays, special events, everything. I broke the status quo and left the pack to pursue a different life than what was there for me in Houston. I don’t regret any of it for a second, but it never gets easier being away. All my focus at the end of 2011 was getting my work together to take this time off and then actually breaking away from life a little to spend  much needed time with my family.

Right after the new year, all I had time for was work. Work work work work work. I work in fashion and we have trade shows at the end of January that takes a mass amount of time to prepare for amongst the daily tasks of work already. All I had was 4 weeks before my next big adventure and time was short.

January 30th I left for Israel for 2 weeks. For those who do not know, I am Jewish and was eligible to participate in a program called Taglit Birthright. Basically, the Israeli government and private sponsors fund a free 10 day trip to Israel with the theory that all Jewish youths should visit the country that is dedicated to our religion. They literally schlep you all over the country doing everything imaginable for you to experience as much as possible in 10 days. I floated in the dead sea, climbed Massada, rode a camel through the desert, celebrated Shabbat at the Western Wall, and met some amazing people that I will never forget and hope to be friends with for the rest of my life. It was one of the best experiences in my life that has overwhelmed my daily life since I returned a week ago.Lets not even mention the jetlag issue! I am thankful for the gift that I was given and can only hope that other Jewish youths take advantage of the opportunity that Taglit has to offer.

So as you can see, the past two months have been overwhelming, emotional, tiring and eventful. All for the good but nonetheless a lot to handle. I still love this blog and stand behind what I show and write. But life happens and we must take it with stride. I plan on updating you with newest finds in the near future once life gets to a normal pace once again.

Leave a Reply

